Goals …. (and you thought I wasn’t going to post today, didn’t you?)

I told a friend yesterday that I’m having WLS and his first response was to ask what my goal was. Now, I know that he was looking for a number. 10. 20. 50. 100. 200. I’m just not prepared to see that yet, so I thought about what my personal goals were in all this.

  • To see my girls get married, and meet my grandbabies – My daughters are 22, 18 and 17. None of them are married or have children, yet. I want to be around for those huge milestones in their lives. I want to help them the way my Mom helped me. My girls are far and away the best thing I’ve ever done. I haven’t always been the best mother to them, but I want to be around for the long haul so I can be now.
  • To love my knees – I know it sounds funny, but I have been horribly cruel to my joints. The weight I’ve carried around all these years? I have not done right by them at all. So, I look forward to my knee replacement, once I’ve dropped weight.
  • To see John Prine perform before either of us dies – That sounds HORRENDOUS, I know, but it’s true. He’s had cancer. I had precancer. I need to see and hear this man live before the opportunity is gone forever.
  • To see the Avetts perform – This also includes their dad, Jim. My daughter, Mariah, sucked me into the Avett bubble a couple of years ago. It’s nothing to fall down a Youtube Avett rabbit hole for hours, watching their performances in Sweden, or Raleigh, or anywhere. My ultimate goal is to see them perform at Red Rocks. Some day..
  • To go to Austin – I have a couple of friends, brother and sister, that I have known for a thousand years. I love them dearly, and they’ve lived all over the country. They just relocated to Austin, and I told them when I started on my weight loss surgery journey that I was going to get to Austin before they moved, so I could help “keep it weird”.
  • To buy clothes I don’t have to order off the friggin’ internet. – I think everyone knows what that means.
  • To marry again – I’ve been divorced for almost 7 years. I’m ready to find someone to share my life with forever.
  • To live a happy life in my skin. – My head is finally in the right place. I just need to have the body to enjoy it.

My time is NOW.

Linda ❤

9 Comments

  1. Rock on Linda, you will achieve those goals and many more throughout this journey and the most important right now is “YOU” and I know you get that. So proud of that and yes Austin will be more weird when you get here and looking forward to seeing you down here so we can get the beach and have an amazing time!

    Like

  2. I can’t wait for you to have your knee replaced!! You will feel so much better and in turn will be able to be active and healthy!! I am so proud of you!! After everything you have been through in life, you deserve to be both happy and healthy!!

    Like

  3. What great goals you have set forth! I send you the best of luck to achieve each and everyone! I know you will not need the luck …. as you are so head-strong and determined…. you will acaccomplish them all!
    I will always be here in support of you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

